Discover African-American Theater Companies in the United States and Toronto

Discover African-American Theater Companies in the United States and Toronto

African American Drama Company  • 630 8th Street #2 • San Francisco, CA 94103) • www.africanamericandramacompany.org
African American Performing Arts Center & Exhibit Hall • 310 San Pedro Dr. NE • Albuquerque, NM 87108 • www.aapacnm.org
African American Repertory Theatre • KD Studio Theatre 2600 N. Stemmons Frwy Suite 180 • Dallas, TX, (972) 572-0998 • www.aareptheater.com
African-American Shakespeare Company • 762 Fulton St. • San Francisco, CA 94102 • www.african-americanshakes.org
Alliance Theatre Company • 1280 Peachtree Street NE • Atlanta, GA 30309 • https://alliancetheatre.org
Asante Children’s Theatre • 617 Indiana Ave. Suite 315 • Indianapolis, IN 46202 • www.asantechildrenstheatre.org
Black Academy of Arts and Letters • 650 South Griffin Street •  Dallas, TX 75202 • www.tbaal.org
Black Repertory Group • 3201 Adeline Street • Berkeley, CA 94703 • www.blackrepertorygroup.com
Black Ensemble Theater • 4450 N. Clark Street • Chicago, IL 60640 • www.blackensembletheater.org
Black Spectrum Theatre • 177 Baisley Blvd • Jamaica, NY 11434 • www.blackspectrum.com
Black Theatre Troupe • 1333 E. Washington St. • Phoenix, AZ 85034 • new-wp.blacktheatretroupe.org
Bushfire Theatre Company • 224 S. 52nd Street • Philadelphia, PA 19139 • www.bushfiretheatre.org
Cincinnati Black Theatre Company • 5919 Hamilton Ave • Cincinnati., OH 45224 • www.cincinnatiblacktheatre.org
Classical Theatre of Harlem • NYC • www.cthnyc.org
Congo Square Theatre • 2936 N. Southport • Chicago, IL 60657 • www.congosquaretheatre.org
Crossroads Theatre Company • 7 Livingston Ave • New Brunswick, NJ 08901 •  www.crossroadstheatrecompany.org
Cultural Odyssey • 762 Fulton Street • San Francisco, CA 94102 • www.culturalodyssey.org
Denver Black Arts Company • Su Teatro Cultural & Performing Arts Center 721 Santa Fe Drive • Denver, CO 80204 • www.thesourcedenver.org
Detroit Repertory Theatre • 13103 Woodrow Wilson St. • Detroit, MI 48238 • www.detroitreptheatre.com
Ensemble Theatre • 3535 Main Street • Houston, TX 77002 • www.ensemblehouston.com
eta Creative Arts Foundation • 7558 S. South Chicago Ave. • Chicago, IL 60619 • www.etacreativearts.org
Faison Firehouse Theatre • Six Hancock Place, Harlem, mail@faisonfirehouse.org, (212)665-7716
Freedom Theatre • 1346 N Broad St. • Philadelphia, PA 19121 • www.freedomtheatre.org
Hansberry Project at ACT •  5951 44th Ave South • Seattle, WA 98118 • www.hansberryproject.weebly.com
Harlem Stage • 150 Convent Ave • NY 10031 • www.harlemstage.org
Hattiloo Theatre • 37 Cooper Street • Memphis, TN 38104 • www.hattiloo.org
Ikam Productions • PO Box 3354 Decatur, GA 30031 • www.ikamproductions.com
Impact Repertory Theatre • NYC • www.impactreptheatre.org
InnerAct Productions • 138 Oxford St., Suite 2C • Brooklyn, NY 11217 • www.idealist.org
Theatre Collaborative • 222 E. Monroe St. • Phoenix, AZ • www.itheatreaz.org
Jubilee Theatre • 506 Main Street • Ft Worth, TX 76102 • www.jubileetheatre.org
Karamu House • 2355 East 89th Street • Cleveland, OH 44106 • www.karamuhouse.org • (The oldest African American Theatre in the USA)
Langston Hughes Cultural Arts Center • 104 17th Ave S • Seattle, WA 98144 • www.langstoninstitute.org
Los Angeles African American Repertory Company • Los Angeles, CA • Los Angeles African American Repertory Company
M Ensemble • 819 NW 2nd Ave • Miami, FL 33136 • www.themensemnle.com
Ma’at Association of African Centered Theatre (IMPAACT) • 2257 N. Lincoln Ave. • Chicago, IL • www.mpaact.org
Mad River Theater Works • Zanesfield, OH • www.madrivertheater.org
Madame Walker Theatre Center • 617 Indiana Ave. • Indianapolis, IN 46202 • www.thewalkertheatre.org
Mahogany Project • Seattle, WA • www.mahoganyproject.org
Mixed Blood Theatre • Minneapolis, MN • www.mixedblood.com
Mosaic Youth Theatre • Detroit, MI • www.mosaicdetroit.org
National Black Theatre • 2031 5th Ave. • NYC 10035 • www.nationalblacktheatre.org
Negro Ensemble Company • 303 42nd Street #501 • NYC 10036 • www.necinc.or
New Dawn Theatre Company • 2400 Crosby Farm R., #11 • St. Paul, MN 55116 • 763.339.0313 • http://www.newdawntheatre.org
New Federal Theatre • NYC • www.newfederaltheatre.com
New Heritage Theatre Group • 229 West 135th Street, NY, NY 10030, www.newheritagetheatre.org
New Jomandi Theatre • 675 Ponce De Leon Ave NE #850 • Atlanta, GA 30308-1829 • www.nmi.org
New Venture Theatre • 100 Lafayette Street • Baton Rouge, LA 70801 www.newventuretheatre.org
North Carolina Black Rep • 610 Coliseum Drive NW #1 • Winston-Salem, NC 27106 • www.ncblackrep.org
Obsidian Theatre • 1089 Dundas Street E. • Toronto, ON M4m 1R9 • www.obsidiantheatre.com
Our Place Theater  • 2010 Columbus Ave • Boston, MA 02119 • Facebook: Our Place Theater
Penumbra Theatre Company • 270 N. Kent St. •  St Paul, MN 55102 • www.penumbratheatre.org
Robey Theatre Company • 514 S. Spring St • Los Angeles, CA 90013 • www.robeytheatrecompany.com
St. Louis Black Rep. • 6662 Olive Blvd. • University City, MO • Facebook: The St. Louis Black Repertory Company • www.theblackrep.org
Take Wings and Soar • NYC
The Carpetbag Theatre, Inc. • 1323 N. Broadway • Knoxville, TN 37917 • Mailing Address: P.O. Box 3184 Knoxville, TN 37927 • 865.544.0447 http://www.carpetbagtheatre.org
The Essential Theatre • 1112 11th Street Suite 100 • Washington, DC 20001 • www.theessentialtheatre.org
THEARC • Washington, DC • www.thearcdc.org
Towne Street Theatre • 4101 Budlong Ave #4 • Los Angeles, CA 90037 • (213) 712-6944 • www.townestreet.org
True Colors Theatre Company • 887 Marietta Street Suite J-102 • Atlanta, GA 30318 • www.truecolorstheatre.org
Ujima Theatre Company • 545 Elmwood Ave. • Buffalo, NY 14222 • www.ujimacoinc.org
Upstage Theatre Company • 1713 Wooddale Blvd • Baton Rouge, LA 70806 • www.upstagetheatre.biz
Watts Village Theater Company • 514 S. Spring Street • Los Angeles, CA 90013 • www.wattsvillage.org
Westcoast Black Theatre Troupe • Sarasota, FL • www.westcoastblacktheatre.org
Yendor Productions • 30 Spruce St. • Newark, NJ 07102 • www.yendorproductions.com
7 Stages Theatre •  1105 Euclid Ave NE • Atlanta, GA 30307 • www.7stages.org

 

Do you know institutions that are not on our list? Please tell us in the comments.

Follow Perri Gaffney:

Perri Gaffney adapted her novel, The Resurrection of Alice (J. California Cooper “I love this book!”), into an award winning play. She co-authored two texts with Mitch Weiss; Managing Artists in Pop Music and The Business of Broadway, has articles in Black Masks, African Eye, and The Charlotte Observer, and several poetry commissions.

2 Responses

  1. Keesha Dixon
    | Reply

    Greetings! I just wanted to say thank you for including the Asante Children’s Theatre in your listing. When in Indianapolis, look us up.

  2. Daje Morris
    | Reply

    This list is an incredibly compilation of theatre companies who tell the stories of our heritage and history! Would you consider adding Carpetbag Theatre, Inc to the list? Carpetbag is a theatre ensemble company based in Knoxville, TN. We were established in 1969 and we love what we do! Thank you for the work you do!

    http://www.carpetbagtheatre.org

Leave a Reply